The Rotary Club of Abbotsford is pleased to announce the installation of Bill Bramwell as President for the 2018-2019 Rotary year effective July 1st.  Bill, a multiple Paul Harris Fellow award recipient, has been an active Rotarian for forty-two years serving as Director in all areas of the various clubs that he has been a member of including Treasurer, Secretary, and Past President of the Rotary Club of Ladner.
Bill a graduate of UBC in Psychology and Business is a retired professional Accountant who worked as Financial Controller for a number of corporations and was the Director of Finance for various branches of the Provincial Government. Bill also successfully negotiated the revised funding agreements for 100 privately owned mental health facilities on behalf of the Province of British Columbia.
In addition to serving as President of the Rotary Club of Ladner, Bill also served on the Board of Directors for the Delta Community Foundation. Since moving to Abbotsford Bill served on the Board of Directors for Abbotsford Restorative Justice and Advocacy Association and is currently the Past President of the East Abbotsford Gideon’s Chapter and is also on the finance committee at the local church he attends.
This past week, Past President Stacey Irwin passed the gavel to President Bill Bramwell which has been a long-standing traditional since 1950 when the club was first chartered. Bill shared some brief history of his time with Rotary and his passion for the work of Rotarians around the world, noting that “Rotary Internationals theme this year is to ‘Be the Inspiration’ and urged Rotarians to utilize their influence and energy to do just that.” In closing Bill said, “As your President I want to remind everyone here that we along with the 1.2 million Rotarians around the world have a unique responsibility to help those less fortunate, in our community and around the world. My goal in Rotary has always been change combined with a vision for a more unified world, a world that comes together for the good of all people. As your President I am thanking you for the opportunity to serve.  I seek to serve you, the members of the Rotary Club of Abbotsford, our community and humanity. Together let’s make this a memorable and productive year.”
Also inducted to the Board of Directors were: Stacey Irwin; Bruce Beck; Doris Woodman-McMillan; Blaine Bailey; Dan Denis; Milt Walker; Yvonne Douma; Dave Loewen; Lyn Dirom; Kim Hissink; and
Kolby Hughes.